The Berkeley Tennis In 1906
The Hillegass Original Home of the Berkeley Tennis Club
BTC member Andy Cohn was interested enough in BTC history to organize a visit back to the original site of the Berkeley Tennis Club in 1906. Andy made arrangements with the real estate agent (the house has just been sold) to allow BTC members to visit the 2624 Hillegass site prior to the new owners moving in. Also present was Leslie Emmington of the BAHA (Berkeley Architectural Heritage Association), who gave us all a more in-depth history of the building's architecture. All in all it was a fun visit into the past to see some of our tennis club's rich history. By the way, someone actually asked Bill Crosby where his locker was back then, "next to J.C. Rolhfs?" Just a joke, Bill :-). Much thanks to Andy, Emma for making his trip possible and also Brent Abel for the photos.